Close encounters

dcp_4315.jpg

A couple of days ago, Nathalie entertained a hairy spider in her home office. Soon after, Dave was greeted by a scorpion at a friend’s house. The next day Wellspring fought off a 2-foot (!) cockroach in her kitchen.

This morning I went out to get the paper and had my own encounter of the scary type – the black snake in my driveway. Before you inundate me with your comments on how beneficial and harmless black snakes are, let me just reiterate: I am half-asleep and bare footed – this is not the best time for a nature wake-up call!

But I can’t complain, considering…My neighbor went out to her garage one morning, raised the garage door and was greeted by a 6-foot alligator in her driveway, smiling ear to ear (they have ears, don’t they?). She quickly lowered the doors and waited for the gator to mosey on, which he did after about 10 minutes. When she told me the story I asked that if it happens again, could she take a photo for me, before fleeing. She looked at me as if I was a few French fries short of a Happy Meal…

Clearly, she’s not one of us 😉

~ by Isabella on March 29, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
