Flying

dcp_4438.jpg

at the canoe park

Do you remember your first bike? When you first learned how to ride? When they finally let go of the seat and you flew solo? The utter terror…and total exhilaration?

It was my 6th birthday. My grandma took me to a bike store and let me pick the coolest, the shiniest, the fanciest looking bicycle they had (at least in my 6-year old opinion 😉
My older brother taught me how to ride – it took less than half an hour – and I was flying up and down our hilly neighborhood. Do you remember that feeling of absolute power and freedom? I don’t think I ever felt like that again…

“Every time I see an adult on a bicycle I no longer despair for the future of the human race.” H.G. Wells

~ by Isabella on March 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
